Idea Or Sound?
I have very little experience or knowledge in the writing of poetry. But one thing became clear to me very early on. I would oftentimes end up in this predicament where I *seemingly* had to make a choice between the idea of the poem or the sound texture of the poem (I mean you don't have forever to write a poem). Which was most important?

Obviously, you always want these two things to fall into place, and it's wonderful, even exhiliarating when it happens, at whatever talent level you're at (mine being mediocre at best Confused). At times I've found myself wanting to invent new words and petition for their inclusion in the OED just so I could finish a stupid line of poetry in such a way that both the idea and sound texture came out right.

I've found that more often than not I reluctantly choose the idea of the poem over the sound texture of the poem. Just wondering how others have felt about this, where their biases lie?

I don't know. Just one of those persnickety poetic things.
You can't hate me more than I hate myself.  I win.

"When the spirit of justice eloped on the wings
Of a quivering vibrato's bittersweet sting."

feedback award
We can't give you an idea. We can help you with sound. So I'd go with idea every time, as long as you understand (as you apparently do) that there's still more work to be done to bring it out perfectly.

Because I firmly believe that poems should be experienced aloud as well as on the page -- and neither position is more important than the other -- it is vital that a poem sounds the way you want it to. But like I said, that can happen in the workshop, not in your head. The more you workshop, the more you'll be able to do on your own.
It could be worse
(03-22-2014, 02:58 PM)Leanne Wrote:  We can't give you an idea. We can help you with sound. So I'd go with idea every time, as long as you understand (as you apparently do) that there's still more work to be done to bring it out perfectly.